Any US Citizen try to get a Bank Home loan?

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Any US Citizen try to get a Bank Home loan?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    apexit

Has anyone had good experiences with getting a home construction loan?
    I am trying to do a commercial project and need financing and the people I sell homes to need financing. I have been filling out forms at BANEX for a few months now. Can anyone reccommend a different Bank for US Citizens.
    Thanks
    Stan

scottbenson

I have heard that it is very hard for North American’s to get financing because of the back ground checks. Maybe you should try to get a loan in the U.S.?

GringoTico

It’s hard for anyone to get financing in CR because there’s no credit reference bureau, and therefore no credit reports. You’d think it would be easier for foreigners to get financing if they come from countries which offer credit reports, but evidently it’s not.

It’s also hard to find a North American bank that’ll loan you money based on foreign collateral.

I don’t know if rentistas or pensionados are eligible, but I was able to finance my home construction through el INVU (Instituto Nacional de Vivienda y Urbanismo). Their central office is in Barrio Amón. This is a government program, and no private lender comes close to the interest rate offered.

You pay a monthly premium with no benefit for several years. You can select the amount of the premium, and the number of years, but these factors impact the amount of the loan you eventually get. When the term is up, they give you the loan, and then you continue to make payments on it until it’s paid in full.