architect on the move to CR…

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum architect on the move to CR…

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    munky

Dear Scott/everyone out there;

I would first like to say that having stumbled on the website briefly and just reviewed the whole thing this weekend and I find it is most informative and helpful to me so far. It has stimulated me to write a request for some help of a similar nature as I intend to move to CR and if anyone can assist; my first questions are these;

I am currently a registered chartered British architect some eight years now and director of a small practice in Cornwall UK at present but wish to relocate with my partner (Accountant) to CR and practice eco architecture. This I would build on my strengths in sustainable architecture and construction here and being a carpenter and builder by trade prior to studying architecture wish to also buy a site in the future and build an exemplar eco property but probably after a few years of practicing first. We have never been to CR before but have travelled a lot chasing surf around the world for years

Can anyone tell me if there are any similar good and eco professionals; architects, engineers, surveyor’s, contractors and developers that I could talk to or resource information on some of the issues for doing this? It has also been difficult so far identifying architectural resources especially?

We have booked flights to CR in November to have a good rekey of areas that would be interesting to start to settle in by renting some property we would like to find out the best resources that describe the areas of CR in detail …..that help describe/inform us the areas that we should be looking at….. given also that we are keen mountain bikers, surf, like laid back local culture, arts and crafts people as well as good professionals etc….. and obviously not far from where potential clients for eco building maybe found etc…