Do books survive the humidity?

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Do books survive the humidity?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    katalan

Does anyone have experience in how well books hold up in the CR humidity? Is a dehumidfier necessary to prevent mold/mildew in books — or even effective? I’m a writer and my library is a big part of my life. Many thanks!

Andrew
    Keymaster

I am a voracious reader online and have also bought over 1,000 books in the last five years and they seem to be just fine but I live in the Central Valley where the humidity is not as bad as it would be in other areas…

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

Imxploring
    Participant

It really is a function of where you intend to live and store your books. Costa Rica has so many different micro-climates that the best move would be to use a dehumidifier unless you’re living in an area that has little or no humidity. It’s amazing how a couple of miles or feet of elevation can change the climate here in CR. The Central Valley is pretty dry but even there you’ll find that the green season can cause problems. For the money I’d invest in a small unit just to be on the safe side. If your collection includes works that have more than personal value it’s the best move!

Edited on Mar 23, 2008 14:16

katalan

Thanks, Scott and Imxploring. We’re moving to the Agua Zarcas area, which I’d guess is “pretty humid” although less humid than, say, an ocean-front location. I’m glad to hear there’s hope for a dehumidifier to work — I’d heard horror stories of folks on the Pacific coast whose libraries were consumed by mold and mildew. Thanks!

ssure