Iowa Boy Needs Advice

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Iowa Boy Needs Advice

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    acmilan40

OK, heres my story… I am a 40 year old, clean-cut, health conscious, male from Iowa… I’ve wanted to move to Costa Rica for about the last 10 years after seeing vacation photos from my aunt and uncles trip… I am single for the first time in my adult life (thanks to my fiancee sleeping with my best friend 2 months before the wedding was supposed to take place) and i have no kids so its either now or never… I don’t smoke or do drugs and only drink alcohol occasionally… Originally i was going to make the leap in late 2008 and had $15,000 saved for the move but had to have a major surgery on my foot/leg last October without health insurance… Ironically that cost me $15,000…

OK, a little about my skills… I am a elite finish carpenter specializing in kitchens and baths and also a skilled landscaper… All my experience was obtained in the Galena Territories in Galena, Illinois… Its a grossly overpriced golf resort 2 hours directly west from Chicago… Oprah and Michael Jordan have or at least used to have houses there which should say something about the quality of my work… I can also build furniture… If you have a picture i can build anything… I’ve also owned and operated rental property for over 10 years so i have property management experience and i’ve helped my aunt with her real estate duties which included setting up appointments and showing properties… Another area of expertise is my ability to fix/build computers and i am currently in my second semester for graphic/web design at NICC… I am also a decent photographer and have professional photography equipment… I have strong customer service/sales skills and being from the midwest, i have very strong values and work ethic…