property transfer after death

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum property transfer after death

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    kathleen6711

Hello out there,

After deciding to do a will (I live in the States but own a small home here) I wondered what is neccessary to ensure that if I died (hopefully not soon but you know..death and taxes..!) how would my sons claim my property? My house is in the name of a Corporation…

thanks,
    Kathleen

maravilla

you could sign the shares of the corp over to them now and have the shares in a safe deposit box. best to talk to a lawyer, though, but i was told this was the simplest way of doing it, but i am NOT a lawyer, and i don’t play one on TV either.

kathleen6711

Thanks Maravilla 🙂
    I will contact my lawyer who has all my corp. papers tomorrow.

DavidCMurray
    Participant

I’m pretty sure that maravilla is right on this. If your only Costa Rican asset is the real estate, and if it’s held in a corporation, transferring the stock to your heirs will probably do the trick. But what of the contents, etc?

Whatever else is true, you can be certain that no Costa Rican court will honor a will drawn in the U.S., and no U.S. Court will honor one drawn here.

The surest approach would be to have two wills.

kathleen6711

great David, I will ask which is simplest and and will do the trick..
    will have to ask about furniture etc too aktho not too valuable really. but still, best to cover all bases..

maravilla

your costa rican will has to be in spanish, for starters. so i would talk to your lawyers about the share transfers and a will to cover the distribution of contents, and while you are at it, ask him about the general rules of inheritance here in costa rica — my lawyer had told me once (6 years ago) that if i died without a will or transferring the shares, that my estate would be distributed equally between my husband and children.

sueandchris